Northern Sky at Worcester Music Festival

This act performed during a previous Worcester Music Festival

Northern Sky: An acoustic/electric quartet performing a fusion of classical/blues/folk/roots music. The group performed at the 2011 Nick Drake Gathering in Tanworth-in-Arden. Don't miss it !

Genre: Acoustic/Americana/Classical
From: Pershore


An acoustic/electric quartet featuring the talents of blues guitarist Matt Thorpe, violinist Ursula Colville, viola of Mike Johnson and the keyboard/vocal of Julian Crook (who also plays in local band The Cohen Brothers) . Their fusion of classical, blues and soul is unique – and their choice of material ranges from Nick Drake to Joni Mitchell to Steve Winwood to The Allman Brothers. This is a chance to catch one of their very rare live performances, and they will be joined by Red Shoes percussionist Bert Priest.

Northern Sky formed following an invitation to take part in the 2011 Nick Drake Gathering [http://nickdrake.moonfruit.com/] in Tanworth in Arden, an annual festival that celebrates the work and life of Nick Drake, a legendary Island Records artist of the late 1960′s / early 70′s who died in 1974, aged just 26. Although only recording and releasing three official albums, Drake’s work has gradually achieved wider notice and recognition and he now ranks among the most influential English singer-songwriters of the last 50 years.

Taking their name from one of their favourite Nick Drake songs, “Northern Sky” play a number of Drake songs plus their own takes on other material from the period Drake was writing and performing – as well as original material. Playing around Worcestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Oxfordshire and Birmingham during 2011/2012, the group play a fusion of classical/blues/folk/roots music.

The band set sovers songs by Nick Drake, Joni Mitchell, The Alman Brothers, Marc Cohn, Paul Buchanan (The Blue Nile), Eric Clapton, Steve Winwood as well as their own original songs.

So, from all of us in Northern Sky, we look forwards to seeing and playing for you very soon at WMF 2012.

Band Members

Julian Crook: keyboard & vocal

Matt Thorpe: guitar

Ursula Coleville: violin / electric violin

Mike Johnson: viola / electric viola / electric violin

Web links

Web: http://www.northernsky1.wordpress.com

^top of page